Skip to content

Indo Activated Carbon / Coconut shell charcoal as feedstock

Coconut shell charcoal as feedstock

Kora sells charcoal, not activated carbon. This page lists what an activator tends to ask of the charcoal, set against what Kora has published.

What Kora’s pages state

Kora shell charcoal and charcoal powder, from the live product pages
ParameterValueUnitTest methodBasis
GradesA and BNot statedKora shell charcoal page
Fixed carbon≥70%Not statedKora shell charcoal page
Moisture≤10%Not statedKora shell charcoal page
Ash≤5%Not statedKora shell charcoal page
Powder meshTo specificationNot statedKora charcoal powder page
Volatile matterAsk salesNot on Kora pages
Lump sizeAsk salesNot on Kora pages
Hardness of the charcoalAsk salesNot on Kora pages
Shell purity (husk, soil)Ask salesNot on Kora pages

Read 2026-10-20. MOQ is discussed at inquiry. The powder page notes that buyers use the powder as feedstock for activated carbon.

Verified · Values quoted from the Kora product pages.

Data not available yet · Lab test of the charcoal for volatile matter, size and hardness: none published.

Kora shell charcoal page · Kora charcoal powder page

What an activator usually asks

  • Volatile matter, because it shows how far carbonization went.
  • Piece size, or powder mesh, and how much fines the lot carries.
  • Shell purity: no husk, soil or other wood.
  • Hardness of the charcoal.
  • Ash and moisture, per lot.
  • Whether you will activate with steam or with a chemical, since that changes what suits.

Under research, not yet verified · This list is our working hypothesis from competitor pages and lab studies. No published trade standard sets numeric limits for raw charcoal as activation feedstock.

Shipping: check before you buy

Charcoal and activated carbon are classed differently. Kora lists charcoal under HS 4402.90; activated carbon is usually 3802.10 at six digits. A third-party compliance blog reports that amendment 42-24 of the IMDG Code became mandatory on 1 January 2026, with special provisions for charcoal (UN 1361) and activated carbon (UN 1362).

Kora’s pages list a certificate of analysis, phytosanitary certificate, certificate of origin, packing list and bill of lading for each shipment. They do not mention dangerous-goods classification or self-heating tests.

Under research, not yet verified · IMDG detail comes from a blog; the official text was not opened. Confirm with your forwarder.

Data not available yet · Kora: dangerous-goods classification and self-heating documents are not stated.